MATTHIAS FITZ
INSTALLATIONEN  VITA
HOME  WORKS
HOME  CONTACT
deutsch

© 2010, Matthias Fitz

DOWNLOADS  TEXTS

An Aesthetic of Physical Nature

The art of Matthias Fitz is experimental and installation-based, technical while at the same time appealing to the senses. The latter includes the active involvement of the spectators, who in many of his works function as necessary participants, or even the catalysts of certain effects and possibilities. For example, in his work “Streichlicht” without their actions – the striking of the matches – no action, or more precisely, no interaction takes place.
Matthias Fitz also interactively incorporates continually selected aspects of the natural world in his works, such as when he utilizes a VLF receiver to makes inaudible frequencies in the electromagnetic spectrum perceptible as complex tonal sounds and soundscapes. The raw materials of his sensory stimulating artworks are often the tones and images that human senses are unable to detect – information and perceptual elements and patterns which can be physically measured and observed but which elude our direct perception.

This type of thing is primarily examined and presented in the natural sciences and not in art. Matthias Fitz, who trained as an electronic engineer for communication and then as a Meisterschüler with studies in experimental media at the Berlin University of the Arts, operates in the art world and sets up his plastic arrangements as both functional and poetic experiential spaces. Darkness often plays a role; many of the visible effects of his installations are only visible through it. This darkening also lends his works a bit of a magical, secretive atmosphere. The results are irritatingly beautiful images, crackling, original sound sequences, white noise, and flashing impressions. They are optical and auditory realizations of an unknown and yet existing reality which Fitz has transmitted, constructed and shown through technical and aesthetic artistic measures that seem deliberate and planned. His art employs an aesthetic of a physical nature.

But what is real? That which is tangible, which exists and creates an effect? The installation art of Matthias Fitz pushes the boundaries of how we define reality and objectivity, of perception and perceptibility. It implants moments and conditions of the invisible as sounds, movement patterns and images in what seem to us relatively familiar three-dimensional, objective spaces. It fascinates through systems of self-reference and disturbance, often with autopoietic moments and conditions of physical elements, which seem to have a life of their own that can now be experienced through the work of Matthias Fitz. In this way, he produces with his art situations that surprisingly seem to go unnoticed and that  sometimes appear chaotic but which do have their own system of order and disorder to which they belong and conform, although these may not be immediately understandable, and which are as much a part of our world as the phenomena of the clearly visible. For this reason, the art of Matthias Fitz is irritating, even captivating; it is unsettling and yet beautiful at the same time. It also shows that assumptions about that which we identify as reality are only relative assumptions. It may be that such findings are hardly new for physicists and mathematicians. However, the art of Matthias Fitz communicates and depicts these findings and experiences in terms of aesthetic quality – through installations, videos and photographs. The world seen in this way is one of wonder, in which the smallest and most ephemeral bits function as necessary building blocks and draw attention to themselves. Apparently, one needs to have two such areas of talent as Matthias Fitz possesses in order to combine scientific and aesthetic expertise with such clarity in works of art.

Dr. Peter Funken, March 2011

 

Download PDF VITA

 

Download PDF PORTFOLIO 2013-2008

 

Download PDF PORTFOLIO 1997-2007

 

 

DOWNLOADS  LINKS
DOWNLOADS  CURRENT

MATTHIAS FITZ
INSTALLATIONEN  VITA
HOME  ARBEITEN
HOME  KONTAKT
english

© 2010, Matthias Fitz

DOWNLOADS  TEXTE

Eine Ästhetik der physikalischen Natur

Die Kunst von Matthias Fitz ist experimentell und installativ, sie ist zugleich technisch wie auch sinnlich angelegt; letzteres auch im Gedanken einer aktiven Beteiligung ihrer Betrachter, denn diese fungieren bei etlichen Arbeiten des Künstlers als notwendig Mitwirkende, sogar Auslöser für bestimmte Effekte und Möglichkeiten. So zum Beispiel bei der Installation „Streichlicht“, weil ohne ihre Handlung - gemeint ist das Anreißen von Streichhölzern - keine Aktion, richtiger gesagt, keine Interaktion stattfände.
Interaktiv bezieht Matthias Fitz ebenfalls immer wieder selektierte Aspekte unserer natürlichen Umwelt in sein Arbeiten ein, etwa dann, wenn er mit Hilfe eines VLF-Empfängers nicht hörbare Frequenzen aus dem elektromagnetischen Spektrum in Klangspuren und Klanglandschaften wahrnehmbar macht. Das Grundmaterial für seine sinnlich erlebbare Kunst entstammt häufig den menschlichen Sinnen unzugänglichen Bereichen von Tönen und Bildern – also Informationen und Wahrnehmungselementen und –mustern, die zwar physikalisch messbar und zu veranschaulichen sind, sich aber ansonsten unserer direkten Wahrnehmung entziehen.

Solches wird vor allem in den Naturwissenschaften, nicht aber in der Kunst untersucht und dargestellt. Matthias Fitz, von seiner Ausbildung her Kommunikationselektroniker und Meisterschüler der Universität der Künste Berlin im Studiengang Experimentelle Mediengestaltung, operiert im Feld der Kunst und inszeniert seine plastischen Arrangements dort als funktionstüchtige, zugleich auch poetische Erfahrungsräume. Hierbei spielt immer wieder auch Dunkelheit eine Rolle, denn die anschauliche Wirkung vieler seiner Installationen wird erst durch sie wirkungsvoll erlebbar. Auch vermittelt solche Verdunklung seinen Arbeiten eine geradezu magische Atmosphäre des Geheimnisvollen. Bei all dem entstehen irritierend schöne Bilder, knisternde, eigenartige Klangfolgen, weißes Rauschen und blitzartige Eindrücke – es sind optische und auditive Realisierungen aus einer unbekannten und doch existierenden Wirklichkeit, die von Fitz transmittiert, gestaltet und vorgeführt wird durch technisch-ästhetische Kunstgriffe, die stets absichtsvoll und geplant geschehen. Seine Kunst bedient sich einer Ästhetik der physikalischen Natur.

Was aber ist Real? Das, was greifbar ist, was existiert und Wirkung auslöst? Die Installationskunst von Matthias Fitz verschiebt unsere Begriffe von Realität und Wirklichkeit, von Wahrnehmung und Wahrnehmbarkeit. Sie implantiert Momente und Zustände des Nichtsichtbaren als Sounds, Bewegungsmuster und Bilder in die uns relativ bekannten dreidimensionalen Wirklichkeitsräume, sie fasziniert mit Systemen der Selbstreferenz und Störung, oft mit autopoietischen Momenten und Zuständen des physikalisch Elementaren, die ein Eigenleben besitzen, das in Matthias Fitz`Arbeiten erlebbar wird. Somit produziert er mit seiner Kunst Situationen, die überraschend ungesehen erscheinen, die manchmal chaotisch anmuten, die jedoch ihrer eigenen Ordnung und Unordnung angehören und gehorchen, die nicht unmittelbar überschaubar erscheinen, aber die Welt genauso konstituieren, wie Phänomene des real Sichtbaren. Die Kunst  von Matthias Fitz ist von daher irritierend, sogar betörend, sie vermag zu verunsichern und ist zugleich wunderschön. Auch zeigt sie, dass Annahmen über das, was wir als Wirklichkeit bezeichnen, nur relative Annahmen sind. Es mag sein, dass solche Erkenntnisse für Physiker und Mathematiker kaum neu sind. Die Kunst von Matthias Fitz teilt im Sinne ihrer ästhetischen Qualität, also durch Installationen, Videos und Fotografien, solche Erkenntnisse und Erfahrungen anschaulich mit. Die Welt ist so betrachtet eine Wunderwelt, in der das Kleinste und Ephemerste als notwendiger Baustein fungiert und sich bemerkbar macht. Es bedarf anscheinend einer Doppelbegabung, wie sie Matthias Fitz besitzt, um wissenschaftliche und ästhetische Kenntnisse in der Anschaulichkeit von Kunstwerken zusammenführen zu können.        

Dr. Peter Funken, März 2011________________________________

                                                                                                                                                          

Download PDF VITA

 

Download PDF PORTFOLIO 2016-2008

 

Download PDF PORTFOLIO 1997-2007

 

 

DOWNLOADS  LINKS
DOWNLOADS  AKTUELL